André Simon Food & Drink Book Awards Open for Entries

The Chairman and Trustees for the annual André Simon Food & Drink Book Awards have announced that entries for 2019 are open. The shortlist will showcase the best of contemporary food and drink writing.

The trustees will be guided by this year’s independent assessors: Guild member and award-winning food writer Niki Segnit for the food books (her first book The Flavour Thesaurus, won the André Simon best food book 2010) and Dan Jago, who has been involved in the drinks business for most of his working life, for the drink books (wine, drinks and beverages). Books are judged on whether they are original, enjoyable, educational, and on their production values.

The sum of £2000 will be awarded to the winner in each category. In addition, £1500 will be awarded for both the John Avery and the Special Commendation Awards at the discretion of the trustees.

The André Simon Food & Drink Book Award trustees include three Guild members Nicholas Lander (chair), Sarah Jane Evans MW and Xanthe Clay. While the food and drink assessors will guide the trustees, their decision is final.

Books can now be submitted and the criteria, rules and the application form can be found under 2019 awards. The closing date for entries is 23 November 2019 and the shortlist will be announced in early December.