Jane Grigson Trust Award 2021 Call for entries

The 2021 Jane Grigson Trust Award for first time writers of books about food and drink is now open for entries from writers, publishers and agents. The closing date is 30 November 2020 and entries can be made at janegrigsontrust.org.uk.

The £2000 Jane Grigson Trust Award, created in honour of one of the greatest food writers that Britain has ever produced, is made to a writer new to food and drink writing (although they may have written on other subjects) whose book has already been commissioned by a publishing house but has not yet been published.

The judges are keen to hear from authors, publishers and agents not just of traditional cookbooks but of any books which have food or drink at their heart. In the spirit of Jane Grigson and her writing, the Award is for a non-fiction book on food and drink in the widest sense, from any genre – cookbook, memoir, travel, history – as long as the primary subject is food or drink.

Chair of Judges Geraldene Holt says ‘In this year of the pandemic, books on food and cooking have inspired and informed us while our lives focused on our health and our daily existence. As Jane Grigson herself said, food books are all about 'enjoying food', and that has never been more true. The Trust looks forward to receiving entries from exciting new writers on food and drink who will help us chart the path ahead.’

The 2020 Award was won by Kirsty Scobie and Fenella Renwick for The Seafood Shack, which will be published by Kitchen Press in November 2020. The Seafood Shack is a mix of Kirsty and Fenella’s popular recipes from their seafood restaurant in Ullapool, alongside their story of creating a new food business, a study of the Scottish seafood and fishing industry and a reflection on the lives of the fishermen at its heart.

Previous winners of the Jane Grigson Trust Award include Guild members Elly McCausland for The Botanical Kitchen and Dan Saladino for The Last Harvest (2019 joint winners); and Angela Clutton for The Vinegar Cupboard (2018).

The judges for the 2021 Award are: Geraldene Holt (food writer and chair of the Jane Grigson Trust); Angela Clutton (food writer, broadcaster, and 2018 Jane Grigson Trust Award winner); Henrietta Green (food writer and Trustee of the JGT); Gareth Grundy (deputy editor of Observer Food Monthly); and Diana Henry (food writer and Trustee of the JGT).

The picture shows Geraldene Holt (Chair of the Jane Grigson Trust) in the centre with 2019 Jane Grigson Trust Award Winners Elly McCausland, and Dan Saladino