The Guild of Food Writers Awards 2024

About The Guild of Food Writers Awards


The Guild of Food Writers Awards recognise outstanding achievement in areas where food writers work and have influence. They are awarded annually and are the only awards judged entirely by professional food writers, editors and broadcasters. The Guild Awards were inaugurated in 1996 and reflect the Guild’s commitment to encouraging new and established food writers.


If you are unsure about which category you should enter or have any questions about the awards process please contact the Awards Coordinator at


Guild of Food Writers Awards 2024 Winners were announced at our Awards ceremony on Wednesday 12th June, held in the Royal Institution in London. The list of Winners can be viewed here and the Finalists and Sponsors can be viewed here.

There are 15 main awards categories:


  • Newcomer
  • Food Podcast or Broadcast Award
  • Food Writing Award
  • Recipe Writing Award
  • Restaurant Writing Award
  • Drinks Writing Award
  • Investigative Food Work Award
  • Food Magazine or Section Award
  • Self Published Writing Award. Previously the Online Food Writing Award and Self Published Work Award.
  • First Book Award
  • Drinks Book Award
  • Food Book Award
  • International or Regional Cookbook Award
  • Specialist or Single Subject Cookbook Award
  • General Cookbook Award


For judging criteria and entry requirements please read the detailed information for each Award category before entering.

Please also read the general entry criteria below.


Entries for The Guild of Food Writers Awards 2024 are now closed. Winners can be viewed here.

Who is eligible for entry?

You do not need to be a member of The Guild of Food Writers to enter. However, the work you are entering:

  • must have been published or broadcast or released, in the English language, in the UK, in the last calendar year
  • should have been published in the UK before publication in any other country
  • must, if published online, be from a site based principally in the UK
  • must be a work of non-fiction.


Any work that does not meet all these requirements cannot be considered. 


How are the awards judged?

For each award category, the Committee of The Guild of Food Writers appoints a lead judge. The remaining three judges are sampled from the Guild membership.

  • No judges may have any of their own work entered in the category they are judging.
  • The recipient of each award is (are) the writer(s) or presenter(s) of, or in the case of the Magazine or Section Award, the editorial team behind the winning work.
  • No discussion or correspondence, outside the meetings of the judges, will be entered into.
  • The judges’ decisions are final.


How will I know who has won?

The shortlisted writers or broadcasters will normally be notified by telephone or email as soon as possible after judging has finished. The shortlist will be published on the Guild’s website. The winners of each prize will be announced at the Guild of Food Writers Awards Ceremony.


Is there a prize?

The winning entry in each category will receive a trophy.


How do I enter?

If you are uncertain as to which category work should be entered, please contact the Awards Co-ordinators for advice (


  • If nominating more than one piece of work into different categories each entry must be on a separate form. Please note that if you enter a book in one of the book categories it will not be eligible for any other category.
  • You may nominate your own or someone else’s work. In either case, you are responsible for deciding in which category or categories it is to be entered, but lead judges may at their discretion reallocate works to a different category. In this event, the nominator will be required to supply copies of the work to the new judges.
  • All Awards communications and nominated work must be clearly marked with the relevant category and nominator’s details.
  • Whoever completes the entry form is responsible for making sure that printed copies of the work(s) are despatched in good time for judges to receive them, regardless of who is despatching them. The Guild regrets that if entries arrive late, the work cannot be considered for the awards.
  • All article-based entries are to be submitted as PDF files or as online links via the entry form
  • For the book categories physical copies of the publication may be sent to the judges as well as a PDF if available.
  • We will provide details of where to send physical hard copies after the closing date if relevant.
  • The Guild Awards celebrate the UK's best food writing. Where entries are a collaborative effort, the Guild asks that those nominating the work, be they authors or publishers, acknowledge this on the application form.


For judging criteria and entry requirements please read the detailed information for each Award category before entering.