The Guild of Food Writers Awards 2023 - Winners

It is with great pleasure that we bring you details of the winners of The Guild of Food Writers Awards 2023 presentation, which took place in London at the Royal Institution on 6 September. You will find full details of the winners and sponsors below.

It was a truly memorable occasion, honouring excellence in our industry. It was also a joyous celebration of outstanding work and a wonderful opportunity to meet old friends and new.

We offer our warmest congratulations to all winning and shortlisted writers and editors. Our sincere thanks go to our members who judged the awards, to our sponsors for their generous support, and to our outstanding volunteer committee who worked tirelessly to arrange this fantastic evening.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Ken Hom CBE


First Book

A Dark History of Sugar by Neil Buttery

(Sponsored by Sea Sisters)


Food Book

English Food: A People's History by Diane Purkiss



Food Podcast or Broadcast

The Full English by Lewis Bassett and Forest DLG

(Sponsored by Trewithen Dairy)


Food Magazine or Section

Pit Magazine: Edited by Helen Graves

(Sponsored by Lakeland)


Food Writing

Bee Wilson for work published in The Guardian and The London Review of Books

(Sponsored by Tebay/Gloucester Westmorland Family)


General Cookbook

Cooking: Simply and Well, for One or Many by Jeremy Lee

(Sponsored by Uncharted Wines)


International or Regional Cookbook

The Nutmeg Trail by Eleanor Ford

(Sponsored by J Pao)


Investigative Food Work

The Great Plant-Based Con by Jayne Buxton


Online Food Writer

Bald Flavours by Sam Wilson

(Sponsored by Sacla')


Recipe Writing

Mark Hix for work published in the Telegraph Magazine

(Sponsored by Gold Top)


Restaurant Writing

Jimi Famurewa for work published in Evening Standard

(Sponsored by Caulishoots®)


Specialist or Single Subject Cookbook

Tomato by Claire Thomson


Drinks Writing

Mark Dredge for articles published on and in Ferment Magazine

(Sponsored by Cipriani)


Drinks Book

Cider Planet by Claude Jolicoeur



Fifty Years - Kinloch Lodge by Claire Macdonald, Jordan Webb and Alisha Fernandez Miranda



Claire Ruston

(Sponsored by Cornish Sea Salt)


Special Award



To read the programme of the evening please click here